Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The tax rate changes each fall based on the total municipal and school budgets passed at the town meeting in the spring. For an estimate of total annual taxes, see the following:
Total Assessed Value / 1000 X tax rate.
E.G: $500,000 / 1000 = 500 X $17.14 (rate per thousand) = $8,570.00 annual taxes.
In a revaluation year, it's important NOT to calculate a new assessed value using the prior year's tax rate. Reassessments can have a significant impact on the tax rate, especially in a rapidly changing real estate market.
In accordance with RSA 79, Timber Tax, an “intent to cut” application, in some cases, must be completed and submitted to the Assessing Department before any timber can be cut from any property. The application can be completed by the logger but must be signed by the owner, as the owner is the person responsible for the payment of the timber tax. There can be exceptions to filing an intent to cut after an on-site review by the Assessor; the law allows for up to 10,000 board feet of logs or 20 cords of wood yield tax free per tax year, so long as the logs or wood is used for the personal use of the owner. The logs or wood cannot be sold or even given in lieu of payment for the timber cut; a yield tax would be issued if that were the case.
For purposes of land conversion (e.g., land developed for a house) an“ intent to cut” is not required if less than 10,000 board feet or 20 cords of wood are cut. In addition, the trees you may want to cut down could be what are called "shade trees" that would strike your home if they fell. In such a situation an intent may not need to be filed. It is always a good idea to check with the Assessor's Office to see if an intent is needed before the chain saw gets fired up. Applications are available at the Assessor’s office. If you have any questions, please
Bedford recently contracted with Vision Government Solutions to complete a town wide valuation update for 2021; the previous biennial re-assessment was in 2019, preceded by 2017. Prior to the two-year cycles, Bedford re-assessed all property in 2013, 2008, 2004 (full revaluation) and 1987.
Going forward, the Bedford Assessors office is slated to update values again in 2023 depending on real estate market activity in the next two years.
Part II, Article 6 of the New Hampshire Constitution requires municipalities to assess properties at their “full and true” market value: “that there shall be a valuation of the estates within the state taken anew once every five years, at least, and as much oftener as the general court shall order.” Additionally, RSA 75:8-a reinforces the fiver year minimum valuation cycle: “The assessors and/or selectmen shall reappraise all real estate within the municipality so that the assessments are at full and true value at least as often as every fifth year…” A revaluation in this case is conducted as a statistical update.
Records for your property are kept in the property files at the Building Dept located at 55 Constitution Dr. Approved septic plans were not required by New Hampshire until the mid 1970's. If there are any records of those early approved systems your only chance of finding them would be to request a search of the records kept by the NH Department of Environmental Services - Subsurface division.
You need to look at your property file and see if it contains a copy of the original septic plan or if the system has been updated or changed from the original design. If your system has been repaired by way of "in-kind" permit then a copy of that permit will be in the file. If you have been told it has been replaced or repaired and there is no record in the file of the repair or replacement, the department will not verify this unless supporting documentation can be provided to the town.
Should you not find what you are looking for please contact Matthew Lavoie with your inquiry.
Visit the New Hampshire Secretary of State's Website for complete listing.
Visit the Town Clerk's Office during business hours to complete appropriate paperwork.
The Transfer Station accepts needles as per the information in the NH Department of Environmental Services Needle document available here: http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swmb/documents/bmp-household-sharps.pdf. Please read this document. It is allowed so long as the needles are put in a container that is rigid and puncture-proof, such as a laundry detergent bottle that has the screw-top securely taped and is labeled “Medical Sharps Container –Not for Recycling”. They have signs and labels at the Transfer Station. You can also print off copies of the label at home and tape them to the container. THE LINK FOR LABELS IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS FAQ. No needles in bags or boxes will be accepted. No exceptions.
Proper disposal of prescription medications and needles and other sharps can prevent harmful health risks to the public, reduce potential drug abuse, and keep our public servants and employees safe. Thank you for helping us!
[ http://www.epa.gov/wastes/nonhaz/industrial/medical/disposal.htm ] Disposal Of Medical Sharps - EPA website
CLICK HERE FOR SHARPS CONTAINER LABELS
The fire service borrows the emblem of the cross from the Knights of St. John of Jerusalem (Knights Hospitallers), a charitable, non-military, organization that existed during the 11th and 12th centuries that helped the sick and poor in setting up hospices and hospitals. Later, they assisted the Knights of the Crusades through their goodwill and also through military assistance in an effort to the Island of Malta, the island for which the Maltese Cross was named.The need for an identifiable emblem for the knights had become crucial. Due to the extensive armor which covered their entire bodies and faces, the knights were unable to distinguish friend from foe in battle. They chose the cross of Calvary as their symbol, since they fought their battles as a holy cause. The cross was later called the "Maltese Cross" and represented the principles of charity, loyalty, chivalry, gallantry, generosity to friend and foe, protection of the weak and dexterity in service.
During the Crusades, many knights became fire fighters out of necessity. Their enemies had resorted to throwing glass bombs containing naptha and sailing their war vessels containing naptha, rosin, sulfur, and flaming oil into the vessels of the knights. Many knights were called to perform heroic deeds by rescuing fellow knights and extinguishing fires. In acknowledgement of these feats, the cross worn by these knights was decorated and inscribed. This was considered a most honorable acclaim.
- Current out of state registration and ORIGINAL TITLE if you hold title to the vehicle. If you do not hold your title we will need the full name and address of your lien holder and/or lease agreement.
- Current mileage.
- The date of your purchase
- If there is more than one owner on your title, both owners will need to sign the title application that we will print.
**You must get a NH license within 60 days of moving to NH.
Per RSA 261:148, we are required to see a government issued photo ID for anyone coming in to register a vehicle, regardless if the vehicle is under your name or not.
Yes, all address changes must be made within 30 days of moving. Please complete the following change of address form and return it to the Town of Bedford. This must be completed for every person who has an address change before we can register your vehicle.
Effective January 1st, 2015: Any motor vehicle whose manufacturer’s model year is 2000 and newer will always be titled. RSA 261:1
I) If you purchased your car from a New Hampshire dealership you will need to bring the title application marked ‘Town Clerk’s Copy’.
II) If you purchased your vehicle out of state you will need to bring the original title or certificate of origin, and a bill of sale.
III) If you purchased your vehicle from a private sale you will need to bring a bill of sale and the original title correctly assigned by the SELLER.
IV) If you have purchased a vehicle that is a model year 1999 or older, you will need a bill of sale, and one of these three items; an original title, a previous NH registration for that vehicle, or a verification of the vehicle identification number.
V) If you are registering a vehicle under a trust name for the first time, we will need the trust paperwork
You will need to provide us with the current/unexpired registration for the old vehicle, and the paperwork from the dealer/seller on the new vehicle. The registration must be an original, not a photocopy.
Plates can only be transferred if the first owner on the old vehicle matches the first owner on the new vehicle, even if your leasing company has changed.
If you are a new business to town or moving within town:
You must show one of the following for residency:
You will then sign the corporate address change form signing under penalty of perjury the address information provide is correct
Please note that the assignment MUST be filled out by the seller, not the buyer. The buyer should ONLY be signing and printing their name where it says buyer signature.
View a sample of the
Per RSA 261:148, we are required to see a government issued photo ID for anyone coming in to register a vehicle, regardless if the vehicle is under your name or not.
If you are registering a vehicle for yourself, please bring in either the registration, renewal notice, and/or driver's license.
If you are registering for someone else, please bring in the registration, renewal notice, AND your driver's license.
Yes, but we will need the SIGNED renewal notices that the state sent. We cannot renew a boat for someone not on the registration without this notice, as we keep a copy of it. If you are renewing a boat for yourself, we can use just your driver's license. Please note that there is a $5 charge for registering the boat at the Town Offices.
The Town of Bedford can issue:regular number plates ($8 one time fee)vanity plates ($40/annually)moose plates ($30/anually)motorcycle plates ($4 one time fee)trailer plates ($4 one time fee)state park plates ($85/annually)decal plates ($15/annually plus the initial cost of the decal)farm plates ($8 one time fee)agricultural plate ($8 one time fee)farm tractor plates ($8 one time fee)
Temporary plates are only issued at a DMV, not the Bedford Town Offices.
You may register up to 4 months in advance.
Driver’s licenses are obtained through any DMV office. The Concord office can be reached at 603-227-4030. The DMV hours of operation are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
In 2022, Detached Accessory Dwelling Units, or Apartments, were adopted by Town Ballot vote. Information about Detached Accessory Dwelling Units can be found at: /DocumentCenter/View/5786/Detached-ADU-Fact-Sheet---2022-
In 2022 an updated Fact Sheet was completed regarding Attached Accessory Dwelling units. /DocumentCenter/View/5785/Attached-ADU-Fact-Sheet---2022
A Fact Sheet was created in 2019 to provide information about Home Occupations. Click here to view the Home Occupation Fact Sheet: /DocumentCenter/View/3999/Home-Occ-Fact-Sheet-rev-6-19
Laws pertaining to Political Advertising
664:17 Placement and Removal of Political Advertising. – No political advertising shall be placed on or affixed to any public property including highway rights-of-way or private property without the owner’s consent. All political advertising shall be removed by the candidate no later than the second Friday following the election unless the election is a primary and the advertising concerns a candidate who is a winner in the primary. Signs shall not be placed on or affixed to utility poles or highway signs. Political advertising may be placed within state-owned rights-of-way as long as the advertising does not obstruct the safe flow of traffic and the advertising is placed with the consent of the owner of the land over which the right-of-way passes. No person shall remove, deface, or knowingly destroy any political advertising which is placed on or affixed to public property or any private property except for removal by the owner of the property, persons authorized by the owner of the property, or a law enforcement officer removing improper advertising. Political advertising placed on or affixed to any public property may be removed by state, city, or town maintenance or law enforcement personnel. Political advertising removed prior to election day by state, city, or town maintenance or law enforcement personnel shall be kept until one week after the election at a place designated by the state, city, or town so that the candidate may retrieve the items.
For questions, please contact:
Secretary of State’s Office - AdministrationPhone: 603-271-3242Fax: 603-271-6316Email: Administration@sos.nh.gov
A Fact Sheet was created in 2019 to provide information about the Bedford Historic District Commission. Click here to view the HDC Fact Sheet: /DocumentCenter/View/3998/HDC-fact-sheet
The Bedford Building Department keeps files of approved septic system designs from approximately 1984 to the present. You can come in and ask to see your approved septic system design. The State of New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services also keeps records of these designs.
A $10.00 fee must be paid when picking up your license. It will take approximately 14 days to process your application. You will need a picture ID (and/or proof of residency) when you pick up your license. No one else can obtain your license for you. When issued, the license will be valid for a period of not less than five years and may be renewed during the license holder’s birth month. As of February, 2017, the license became voluntary for qualified persons to carry concealed within the State of New Hampshire with certain specific limitations. More details can be found here: Pistol Licenses page.
- Accident Reports: As of June 16, 2017 Governor Sununu signed HB 437 allowing law enforcement to release motor vehicle accident reports and records again! Anyone looking to get copies of MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT REPORTS must request this report using the Record Request Form that is available in the lobby of the Police Department 24/7, or here on our website under the "Forms" tab. There is a $20.00 fee for reports that must be submitted with the request. We take cash and check only. The report will then be emailed out to you when it is completed and approved. Only individuals involved in the accident (drivers, passengers, vehicle owners, or property owners with damage, -and their insurers) are entitled to the report.
- Incidents: An incident report or Dispatch Log is a very brief description of calls that officers respond to. An incident report is typically one page of information that includes the date and time of an incident, the location, and the name(s) of officer(s) who responded to the scene.
- Crime Reports: A crime report is the Police Department’s more thorough investigation of an incident that has been reported. If you are the victim in a crime, you may call the police department at any time to check on the status of your case. Whether or not a report can be released depends mostly on its status. For example, if a case is under active investigation or pending court, details will not be made available to the public. Any replication photographs onto a CD will be charged $25.00 per CD.
- Arrest Reports/Discovery: If you need to obtain a copy of your arrest report, there are two ways of obtaining a copy. You may either have your lawyer request the report or you may contact the prosecutor's office at police headquarters. If you have retained a lawyer, he or she should be the one to request it for you. If you are requesting a copy of your arrest report for yourself, you must do it in writing using the Records Request Form.
All reports are individually reviewed for release. Reports may not be released if there are suspects, accused, juvenile, or arrested parties mentioned in the report or if it is an open investigation or is a pending court case. Redacted/edited copies may be released in certain cases. Any questions pertaining to the release can be answered by our records clerks.
Forms and fees can be found HERE
As the DEA stated in a previous press release, “With four out of five new heroin users starting with prescription medications, I know our take-back program makes a real difference.” And we here at the Bedford Police Department couldn’t agree more. BPD now has a drug disposal box in our lobby available 24/7 to Bedford residents. This service is available for disposal of unused or expired medications or supplements. It is anonymous and the pills can be in unlabeled bottles or baggies.
**NO liquids/ointments, needles, inhalers, aerosols, or thermometers accepted.**
The new Drug Collection Unit represents one of 1,000 Units CVS/pharmacy and The Medicine Abuse Project (MAP), a five-year initiative of The Partnership for Drug-Free Kids, are providing across the country. Since we initiated our own prescription drug drop-box in the lobby of the police department on June 16, 2015, we have taken in over HUNDREDS of pounds of prescription medications for disposal. This is an incredibly important step in fighting the drug epidemic in our community and it is something that every single household can do to combat this problem. It is important to note that according to statistics from the Partnership for Drug Free America, 60% of teens who have abused prescription painkillers did so before the age of 15. In addition, the rate of New Hampshire young adults aged 18-25 who reported non-medical use of pain relievers was the HIGHEST of all states reporting [2009-2010 National Survey on Drug Use and Health].
As we have discovered in the past, discussions on drug take back usually raise questions on proper disposal of medical sharps (needles). In an effort to clarify, here are the options that the Town of Bedford offers for safe and proper needle disposal. Due to the risk to employees these disposal practices MUST be followed:
-The Transfer Station accepts needles as per the information in the NH Department of Environmental Services Needle document available here: http://des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/waste/swmb/documents/bmp-household-sharps.pdf. Please read this document. It is allowed so long as the needles are put in a container that is rigid and puncture-proof, such as a laundry detergent bottle that has the screw-top securely taped and is labeled “Medical Sharps Container –Not for Recycling”. They have signs and labels at the Transfer Station. You can also print off copies of the label at home and tape them to the container. THE LINK FOR LABELS IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS FAQ. No needles in bags or boxes will be accepted. No exceptions.
[ http://www.epa.gov/wastes/nonhaz/industrial/medical/disposal.htm ]Disposal Of Medical Sharps - EPA website
The interest accrues at 8% annually and it begins the day after your due date noted on your bill.
The interest rate is 18% APR for liens on taxes levied prior to 2019. The rate for liens on taxes levied after the 2018 tax year will be at 14%.
Yes, you can prepay up to two years of property taxes per RSA 80:52-a.
The Town of Bedford accepts cash, certified bank checks, cashiers check, personal checks, or a money order. Credit and debit cards are also accepted, but are subject to a fee of the transaction total.
The Transfer Station hours of operation are:Sunday and Monday, we are closed. Tuesday 7 AM - 5 PM. Wednesday 8:30 - 5 PM. Thursday 8: 30 - 7 PM. Friday 8:30 - 5 PM. Saturday 6:30 -3 PM.
For more information, view Historical Tax Rates.